One Less Piece of Admin for Me!

Last week, I ended one of my longest relationships. It lasted just over 30 years, but after a long period of reflection and getting over sentimentality, I closed the very first bank account I ever had. My relationship with Absa (Trust Bank when the account was opened for me by my dad at the Bellville Middestad branch, if I remember correctly) is no more.

Perhaps some of you can recall this post about my banking woes? I have no regrets except that it was the best service I’d received from them in a long time. Maybe if it had been like this earlier. Maybe if their bank costs weren’t so unpredictable at the time I was still using my account.

So that means one less password and PIN to remember, although I’ll probably remember the bank account number until I’m old and senile.

Anyway, now I have only my Capitec account. And an extra R314.30 from the balance left in my Absa account at closing, in my pocket to blow as I please.

Leave a Reply

