Frost’s Harvest Moon

Late on Valentine’s afternoon, I got together with two of my friends to see and hear Albert Frost perform solo at Jordan Wine Estate, to eat a delicious gourmet burger and drink some award-winning wine on their picnic lawn. It turned out to be an excellent idea. Not that I was expecting any of it to be rubbish, mind you! It had rained earlier in the day, but thankfully the clouds had abated enough to allow us to spread our picnic blankets on the grass. It was a bit of a balancing act as the lawn slopes down towards the dam from the makeshift stage, but I decided to see it as free core muscle exercise. With a glass of wine in hand that I suppose I could utilise as a dumpy (builders …) level. Wine, such a wonderful beverage!

If you’ve not yet seen the view from Jordan’s deck, I suggest you go and check it out. It must be one of the few places where you can literally just sit and stare and not say a word for a very long time, music or no music.

I’ve heard Albert Frost perform on a ridiculous amount of occasions, the first being when I was a waitress at Gigi’s Bistro back in 1998. Last year, I had the good fortune to see him rip up the stage with Schalk Joubert and Jonno Sweetman at the Table Mountain Blues Summit, and as far as I was concerned, it was the set of the day (and there were some insanely good performances).

Sunday evening his performance was no exception, except that he played on his own, using four guitars and a loop pedal to entertain the crowd. He played some of his oldies, some of his new stuff and then a few covers, swapping guitars so swiftly, my one friend said it made her feel dizzy (it may have been the wine). But what stood out for me was Frost’s rendition of Harvest Moon by Neil Young. It was such lovely stuff, I almost got all bleary-eyed. I think we all did, but I can only speak for myself. Alas, I was unable to find his version on the interwebs, so here is Neil’s. If you’re at an Albert Frost gig next, be sure to holler it as a request if he doesn’t get around to it.

We’re a fortunate bunch in South Africa to have such talented musicians on our doorstep, from our soil. We must truly make an effort to support them as much as we possibly can.

Leave a Reply

