The Relativity of Insanity

I have always held great stock in my capacity for insanity. Not the Hannibal kind of insanity, but the stubborn kind. The kind that says I will do what I want to do the way I want to do it. I know. Insane!

Nonetheless, this quote, supposedly by Einstein, has struck a chord with me the last few weeks. It’s scribbled on our office’s doodle wall (yes, we have one of those, and it’s anonymous) and the response on the wall has been quite fun.

But I’ve realised the reality of it is quite serious and affects my life. And yours too, of course.

I think the delineation comes with what kind of insanity we want to subscribe to. The kind that makes us happy, or the kind that makes us unhappy? And do we have the wherewithal to identify it and know the difference? It affects all parts of our lives, so I think it’s worth taking the time to take each one of those areas and sit it down, look at it and decide whether you’re happy with it. The old adage goes, if you can change it, change it. If you can’t, accept it (or my version, wait until you can change it and then  change it).

So, this morning, I made the decision for sanity in order to give myself the opportunity for different results. If it pays off, you’ll know.

Leave a Reply

