Inconsideration is Not a Station

OK, so maybe a cheesy attempt at a heading, but I’d like to elaborate by saying it [inconsideration/inconsiderateness] is not a place you want to stay at.

I came back from my European holiday to a racial explosion on social media and in the news reports in South Africa. Quite a few incidents of varying degree were being discussed from all sides.

But here’s what I think and my take on “sides”. Racism is wrong. As is sexism, ageism, gender bias, etc. There is no place for it in any society. All types discrimination should be identified and called out. Sure, it’s neither easy nor pleasant. And nobody wants to be labelled a bigot, but I’d like to stick my neck out and say that we all suffer some type of discrimination, be it giving and/or receiving. But that does not let us off the hook because after all has been said and done, hurled about and lord knows what else, we are all human beings. Equal. Born naked, to die to the same fate of decomposition, no matter what you believe happens or doesn’t happen when death takes you. Why on earth would you want to imagine that life itself is the thing that makes you better, even if our circumstances are not equal?

Some days I wish I’d just up and leave as I so easily can, and move to a more inclusive society. But, part of me thinks that this amounts to giving up on something I am part of. I am part of the problem, which means I can and must be part of the solution. But it takes honest introspection and then communication and courage and action. It’s all uncomfortable stuff. And heaven knows, I often feel overwhelmed by the magnitude of this specific problem in our country, but if I don’t do what I can, who will? How can I expect others to do the same? Something’s got to give people…

And not just with racism. I mean just starting at having good old plain consideration for others.

If there’s one bubble I do not like, it must be the bubble of ignorance masquerading as self-righteousness. Just pop it already.

Put down that toilet seat, or dare I say it, put it up.

2 thoughts on “Inconsideration is Not a Station

Leave a Reply

