It’s None of Your Beeswax (But All of Mine)

Credit to Leunig: www.leunig.com.au

Credit to Leunig: http://www.leunig.com.au

I am very excited. Bouncing excited. Niece style.

What started off as a small, random idea (I’m not going to lie, it was probably somewhat inspired by wine) at a mid-week farewell party of someone I did not really know well enough to bid farewell, just to get my butt out of town and into the sticks, is now turning into a creative learning opportunity! Well, for me, anyway. Sometimes getting out of bed to go to work in the mornings is a learning opportunity for me.

And, to be honest, it will also be an opportunity to reflect on the loss of the lesser-spotted, grey, wine-loving elephant. (So, I’ll probably smuggle in a bottle of wine.)

But I digress. See, by a few turns of the planet and minds, I will be off to a farm in roughly the direction of the Koo Valley in a few weeks’ time to go and hang out on a permaculture farm! With as little as the 4×4 i10 can allow in her rump. Must remember to check the spare tyre… I’m prone to needing such necessities when travelling on my own…

Regardless… Whoohoo! Biggest YAY ever!

Oh, and what is so exciting about this? So much. I sit in an office 5 days a week, from 8-5, writing the company’s less exciting but necessary stuff and proofreading and editing and sighing and banging my head on the deskpad and drinking coffee and cross-checking and updating and and and … So, on this tiny trip, I shall be doing the exact opposite. Instead of taking in in in … I shall be living out out out. Regaining the balance of give and take, as it were.

Have I mentioned that I am excited? Because I’m a little scared too. The directions are like, you know… cryptic.

But … If I get there in a half decent time and in one piece, I’ve been told that I’ll be making natural balms and potions using all natural plants and products. Hence my search for beeswax. Ends up you can buy it at many places, but surprisingly (or maybe not) it’s on a rack at PNA for R60 or so, for 100g. Natural beeswax.

Nevermind all the skoffeling I’ll be doing in the garden (or not, depending on the rules, going to learn so much) and fresh air and hot days and cold nights and a most excellent sleeping bag and big skies and stars and goggas and lots to learn about planting properly and … I’m even excited about no meat being allowed (perhaps steak the evening before I leave then …).

Good vibes and hippie jol, here I come! Leave the deodorant at home and grab some buchu leaves instead. 🙂

Can. Not. Wait.

Ek rol sommer my hare in dreads en druk ‘n veertjie in.

Leave a Reply

