Poetry in Life and Life in Poetry

This weekend, I am going to the Franschhoek Literary Festival (come and say hi if you’re around). I decided, after seeing the extensive programme, that I would focus on poetry. And wine, of course.

So last night, I went to my very first slam poetry session, The InZync Poetry Sessions, at Klein Libertas Theatre, almost in preparation. The first time I ever heard of slam poetry was about 10 years ago, when I watched a movie about it, fittingly called “Slam”. I’ve been intrigued ever since. But slam poetry never seemed that popular in SA. Or maybe I wasn’t paying attention.

Be that as it may. Finally, I have been to a poetry slam session.

I had no idea what to expect last night, but can I just say that it was incredible! Not only was the venue jam-packed by the time we got there 20 minutes early, but it was packed with people of all ages and many races. And talk about enthusiasm! The poets, the audience, the MCs … everyone took part with gusto and was just buzzing.

The talent though … what talent! I was in awe and at one stage, I just felt like I was going to explode with pleasure at what I was experiencing. Poetry, my friends, is so not dead in this town.

Nevertheless, I left at half-time. My poor head couldn’t absorb another word.

But I’ll be back. No doubt about it. You should join me.

Leave a Reply

